Duty Arms Indexworking title

Asheville Police Department

Local policeAsheville, Buncombe, North Carolina
+ Submit an entry

At a glance

Pistols3 current

Glock G17 (model photo)
Official source

Photo: U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons. Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.

Glock G17

9mm LugerPrimary duty
Dates
Current (start date unknown)
As of
Oct 8, 2026

Per 2026 source; year only. Current status not re-verified.

Policy lists the department-issued primary service handguns: Glock 17 and Glock 45 MOS (9mm) for all officers, and Glock 43X for investigations, administrative and executive staff. Standard rifle is an AR-15 carbine (maker not stated).

Sources
Accurate?
Glock G45 MOS (model photo)
Official source

Representative photo: Glock 19X (closely related crossover model); G45 MOS not available under a free license. Photo: Rhk111, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.

Glock G45 MOS

9mm LugerPrimary duty
Dates
Current (start date unknown)
As of
Oct 8, 2026

Per 2026 source; year only. Current status not re-verified.

Policy lists the department-issued primary service handguns: Glock 17 and Glock 45 MOS (9mm) for all officers, and Glock 43X for investigations, administrative and executive staff. Standard rifle is an AR-15 carbine (maker not stated).

Sources
Accurate?
Glock G43X (model photo)
Official source

Photo: Kolomaznik, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.

Glock G43X

9mm LugerPlainclothes / investigative
Dates
Current (start date unknown)
As of
Oct 8, 2026

Per 2026 source; year only. Current status not re-verified.

Policy lists the department-issued primary service handguns: Glock 17 and Glock 45 MOS (9mm) for all officers, and Glock 43X for investigations, administrative and executive staff. Standard rifle is an AR-15 carbine (maker not stated).

Sources
Accurate?

Not yet sourced for this agency

Know of a public source (policy manual, contract, press release, news)? Submit it.

Previously issued

No previous-issue history recorded yet.

Corrections & change log

  • Oct 8, 2026 · Imported from public source(s): Asheville Police Department
  • Oct 8, 2026 · Imported from public source(s): Asheville Police Department
  • Oct 8, 2026 · Imported from public source(s): Asheville Police Department

Agency-level equipment only, from public sources. No individual officers, no unit specifics beyond what the agency has published. Not affiliated with Asheville Police Department. Agency listing source: link.