Glock G17 Gen6
Representative
OpticAimpoint COARepresentative
- Pistol
- Glock G17 Gen6
- Caliber
- 9mm Luger
- Optic
- Aimpoint COA
- Light
- Not yet sourced
- Replaces
- Glock G17 Gen5
Issued duty weapons, ammunition and attachments, from public sources. Every entry is dated and confidence-rated.
| Category | Current primary issue | Confidence | Entries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pistols | Glock G17 Gen6 | Official source | 2 |
| Rifles / Carbines | Not yet sourced | — | |
| Shotguns | Not yet sourced | — | |
| Precision / Sniper Rifles | Not yet sourced | — | |
| SMGs / Pistol-Caliber Carbines | Not yet sourced | — | |
| Duty Ammunition | Not yet sourced | — |
How the current duty weapons are configured, per the sourced entries below. Optic and light models are shown only when a source names them.
Representative

Representative photo: Glock 17 Gen 5. Photo: Tony Webster, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.
| Dates | Current (start date unknown) |
|---|---|
| Attachments | Optic: Aimpoint COA ![]() Representative photo: Aimpoint ACRO C-2 (the Aimpoint COA is not available under a free license). Photo: Sauer202, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Model photo, not the agency's own firearm. |
| As of | Oct 9, 2026 |
Replacement duty handgun with integrated Aimpoint COA; purchase approved on the city council consent agenda May 18, 2026. Issue not separately confirmed.
The Overland Park police staff report to the Public Safety Committee (May 13, 2026) recommended buying Glock 17 Gen 6 handguns with integrated Aimpoint COA red-dot sights to replace the department's Gen 5 Glock 17 duty handguns issued in 2020. The city council approved the purchase on its May 18, 2026 consent agenda (minutes already cited). A purchase approval, not confirmation of issue.

Representative photo: Glock 17 (agency source did not state model). Photo: U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons. Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.
| Dates | Current (start date unknown) |
|---|---|
| As of | Oct 9, 2026 |
City council approved (consent agenda, May 18, 2026) a bid for Glock Generation 6 handguns with red-dot sights; model and role not stated; issue not separately confirmed.
Overland Park City Council minutes of May 18, 2026 show the consent agenda, including a bid tabulation for the purchase of Glock Generation 6 handguns with COA red-dot sights and Safariland holsters, approved by roll-call vote. Specific Glock model and assignment are not stated in the minutes; issue not separately confirmed.
Know of a public source (policy manual, contract, press release, news)? Submit it.
Agency-level equipment only, from public sources. No individual officers, no unit specifics beyond what the agency has published. Not affiliated with Overland Park Police Department. Agency listing source: link.