Glock G17
Model photo- Pistol
- Glock G17
- Caliber
- 9mm Luger
- Optic
- Not yet sourced
- Light
- Not yet sourced
Issued duty weapons, ammunition and attachments, from public sources. Every entry is dated and confidence-rated.
| Category | Current primary issue | Confidence | Entries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pistols | Glock G17 | Official source | 1 |
| Rifles / Carbines | Smith & Wesson M&P15 | Official source | 1 |
| Shotguns | Not yet sourced | — | |
| Precision / Sniper Rifles | Not yet sourced | — | |
| SMGs / Pistol-Caliber Carbines | Not yet sourced | — | |
| Duty Ammunition | Not yet sourced | — |
How the current duty weapons are configured, per the sourced entries below. Optic and light models are shown only when a source names them.
Model photo
Model photo
Photo: U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons. Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.
| Dates | Current (start date unknown) |
|---|---|
| As of | Oct 9, 2026 |
State grant approved 2017-09-20 by the Fund to Combat Violent Crime Committee to purchase this equipment; issue not separately confirmed. Current status not re-verified. Described in the meeting as handgun upgrades.
Delaware Fund to Combat Violent Crime Committee minutes (September 20, 2017) approve, as amended, a grant for the Smyrna (DE) Police Department that includes Glock 17 handguns (described by the chief as upgrades) and Smith & Wesson M&P15 T rifles. Roles not stated. Current status not re-verified.

Photo: danphamcdp, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.
| Dates | Current (start date unknown) |
|---|---|
| As of | Oct 9, 2026 |
State grant approved 2017-09-20 by the Fund to Combat Violent Crime Committee to purchase this equipment; issue not separately confirmed. Current status not re-verified. Listed as 'M&P15 T'.
Delaware Fund to Combat Violent Crime Committee minutes (September 20, 2017) approve, as amended, a grant for the Smyrna (DE) Police Department that includes Glock 17 handguns (described by the chief as upgrades) and Smith & Wesson M&P15 T rifles. Roles not stated. Current status not re-verified.
Know of a public source (policy manual, contract, press release, news)? Submit it.
No previous-issue history recorded yet.
Agency-level equipment only, from public sources. No individual officers, no unit specifics beyond what the agency has published. Not affiliated with Smyrna Police Department. Agency listing source: link.