Duty Arms Index

Central Reserve Police Force

Federal · New Delhi, India · Last updated · Official site ↗

+ Submit an entry
Flag of IndiaIndia
No duty weapons sourced yet

What gun does the Central Reserve Police Force carry?

No general-issue patrol rifle is sourced for the Central Reserve Police Force: the Ordnance Factory Board INSAS (5.56x45mm NATO) is listed, but its entry doesn't say it is general issue.

Type
Federal
Location
New Delhi, India
Entries
1 current · 0 previous2 sources cited
Last updated
Oct 11, 2026newest source Jan 1, 2024

Quick answers

What rifle does the Central Reserve Police Force use?

No general-issue patrol rifle is sourced for the Central Reserve Police Force: the Ordnance Factory Board INSAS (5.56x45mm NATO) is listed, but its entry doesn't say it is general issue. Each rifle entry on this page gives its role and source.

Duty Arms Index1,285 agencies3,201 sourced entriesUpdated Oct 11, 2026How we source

Patrol / duty issue

At a glance

CategoryCurrent primary issueEntries
PistolsNot yet sourced—
Rifles / CarbinesOrdnance Factory Board INSASNot stated as general issueWho else issues it →1
ShotgunsNot yet sourced—
Precision / Sniper RiflesNot yet sourced—
SMGs / Pistol-Caliber CarbinesNot yet sourced—
Duty AmmunitionNot yet sourced—

Loadout

How the current duty weapons are configured, per the sourced entries below. Optic and light models are shown only when a source names them.

Rifle / carbine (not general issue)

Ordnance Factory Board INSAS

Official source
Generic illustration
Issued configuration
Rifle
Ordnance Factory Board INSAS
Caliber
5.56x45mm NATO
Rifle optic
Not yet sourced
Light
Not yet sourced

Rifles / Carbines

1 current
Generic illustration

Ordnance Factory Board INSAS

Official source2 sources
5.56x45mm NATOOther
DatesCurrent (start date unknown)
As ofOct 11, 2026

CRPF rifle per the MHA's 2015 Rajya Sabha reply, which says 7.62x39mm assault rifles were authorised to replace INSAS rifles only in battalions deployed in Left-Wing-Extremism and J&K areas; the CRPF 2023-28 procurement plan still buys INSAS slings. Not stated as general issue in these sources.

Not yet sourced for this agency

Know of a public source (policy manual, contract, press release, news)? Submit it.

Compare CRPF with other agencies

Corrections & change log

  • Oct 11, 2026 · Imported from public source(s): Press Information Bureau, Ministry of Home Affairs; Central Reserve Police Force

Agency-level equipment only, from public sources. No individual officers, no unit specifics beyond what the agency has published. Not affiliated with Central Reserve Police Force. Agency listing source: link.