Duty Arms Index

Australian Federal Police

Federal · Australia · Last updated · Official site ↗

+ Submit an entry
Duty pistol
Glock G179mm Luger
Reliable secondary
Glock G17 (model photo)

Photo: U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons. Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.

What gun does the Australian Federal Police carry?

The Australian Federal Police's current duty pistol is reportedly the Glock G17 (9mm Luger), per news or manufacturer reports (2025).

Type
Federal
Location
Australia
Entries
4 current · 0 previous5 sources cited
Last updated
Oct 10, 2026newest source Jun 5, 2025

Quick answers

What caliber does the Australian Federal Police use?

The Australian Federal Police's current duty pistol is reportedly the Glock G17, chambered in 9mm Luger, per news or manufacturer reports.

Duty Arms Index1,255 agencies3,129 sourced entriesUpdated Oct 10, 2026How we source

Patrol / duty issue

At a glance

CategoryCurrent primary issueEntries
PistolsGlock G17Who else issues it →1
Rifles / CarbinesNot yet sourced—
ShotgunsNot yet sourced—
Precision / Sniper RiflesNot yet sourced—
SMGs / Pistol-Caliber CarbinesNot yet sourced—
Duty AmmunitionHornady Operational 9mm load (product not stated) 9mm Luger3

Loadout

How the current duty weapons are configured, per the sourced entries below. Optic and light models are shown only when a source names them.

Duty pistol

Glock G17

Reliable secondary
Glock G17 (model photo)
Shown: Glock G17 (model photo)
Issued configuration
Pistol
Glock G17
Caliber
9mm Luger
Pistol optic
Not yet sourced
Light
Not yet sourced

Source: Engineering Business (Jun 5, 2025) + 3 more in the entry below

Photos are model or representative photos from Wikimedia Commons, Flickr (Creative Commons), U.S. government public-domain sources and our own photos, not this agency's own equipment. Accessory photos are separate images, never edited onto the gun.

Pistols

1 current
Glock G17 (model photo)

Photo: U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons. Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.

Glock G17

Reliable secondary4 sources
9mm LugerPrimary duty
DatesCurrent (start date unknown)
As ofOct 10, 2026

Glock 17/19/26 in service as of 2010 (spare-parts contract); current model not confirmed.

INFERRED, not confirmed: the AFP has not published its current duty pistol. Official record: in 2010 the AFP bought « Glock 17,19 an d26 spare parts kits » (AusTender CN308344), so the Glock 17, 19 and 26 were in AFP service as of 2010. The 2025 firearms-simulator tender (RFT 12-2025) says only « replica firearms » on AusTender; the « tetherless Glock 17 and M4 replica kits » wording comes from a trade-press summary (Engineering Business), not the tender notice. The 2024 FOI release (LEX 2198) confirms a large handgun fleet but names no model. Upgrade when a current named source is found.

Duty Ammunition

3 current
Generic illustration

Hornady Operational 9mm load (product not stated) 9mm Luger

Official source1 source
9mm LugerOther
DatesCurrent (start date unknown)
As ofOct 10, 2026

Hornady is one of three brands of operational 9mm ammunition listed in the AFP's 2024 FOI release; the specific load is not named.

Generic illustration

Winchester Operational 9mm load (product not stated) 9mm Luger

Official source1 source
9mm LugerOther
DatesCurrent (start date unknown)
As ofOct 10, 2026

Winchester is one of three brands of operational 9mm ammunition listed in the AFP's 2024 FOI release (Winchester is also the 9mm training brand); the specific load is not named.

Generic illustration

Speer LE operational 9mm load (product not stated) 9mm Luger

Official source1 source
9mm LugerOther
DatesCurrent (start date unknown)
As ofOct 10, 2026

Speer LE is one of three brands of operational 9mm ammunition listed in the AFP's 2024 FOI release; the specific load is not named.

Not yet sourced for this agency

Know of a public source (policy manual, contract, press release, news)? Submit it.

Tactical units (SWAT)

Tactical units (SWAT)

1 current

Weapons a public source lists for the agency's SWAT or tactical team, not patrol/duty issue. Not counted in this agency's duty weapons or in site-wide stats.

Daniel Defense MK18 (model photo)

Representative photo: U.S. Navy Mk 18 Mod 1 carbine (10.3-inch barrel, Daniel Defense RIS II rail on a Colt lower) with EOTech sight, weapon light and suppressor; the Daniel Defense MK18 is Daniel Defense's version of this rifle. Photo: Sgt. Patrik Orcutt, U.S. Army, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to the rifle and hands (no body armor or gear)). Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.

Daniel Defense MK18

Official source1 source
5.56x45mm / .223Tactical unit (SWAT)
DatesCurrent (start date unknown)
As ofOct 10, 2026

Rollout from December 2019.

Tactical unit: AFP Protection Operations Response Teams (PORT), the specialist response teams at designated Australian airports. Not general issue. Short-barrelled rifle rolled out to PORT from December 2019 (AFP media release).

Compare AFP with other agencies

Corrections & change log

  • Oct 10, 2026 · Updated from public source(s): AusTender (Australian Government); Engineering Business; Australian Federal Police (FOI disclosure log)
  • Oct 10, 2026 · Added public source(s) from import: AusTender (Australian Government)
  • Oct 10, 2026 · Role corrected (Patrol long gun -> Tactical unit (SWAT)): issued to the AFP's Protection Operations Response Teams at designated airports (AFP media release), not general issue.
  • Oct 10, 2026 · Imported from public source(s): Australian Federal Police (FOI disclosure log)
  • Oct 10, 2026 · Imported from public source(s): Australian Federal Police (FOI disclosure log)
  • Oct 10, 2026 · Imported from public source(s): Australian Federal Police (FOI disclosure log)
  • Oct 10, 2026 · Imported from public source(s): Australian Federal Police
  • Oct 10, 2026 · Imported from public source(s): AusTender (Australian Government); Engineering Business; Australian Federal Police (FOI disclosure log)

Agency-level equipment only, from public sources. No individual officers, no unit specifics beyond what the agency has published. Not affiliated with Australian Federal Police. Agency listing source: link.