Duty Arms Index

Lane County Sheriff's Office (Oregon)

Sheriff's office · Eugene, Oregon · Last updated · Official site ↗

+ Submit an entry
Patrol rifle
Bushmaster XM15 (variant not stated)5.56x45mm / .223
Official source
Bushmaster XM15 (variant not stated) (model photo)

Representative photo: Bushmaster XM15-E2S; the agency source says only 'Bushmaster XM15' (variant not stated). Photo: Mika Järvinen, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.

What gun does the Lane County Sheriff's Office (Oregon) carry?

The Lane County Sheriff's Office (Oregon)'s current patrol rifle is the Bushmaster XM15 (variant not stated) (5.56x45mm / .223), per official agency or government records; based on a 2020 source and not re-verified since.

Type
Sheriff's office
Location
Eugene, Lane, Oregon
Entries
3 current · 0 previous1 source cited
Last updated
Oct 10, 2026newest source May 12, 2020

Quick answers

What rifle does the Lane County Sheriff's Office (Oregon) use?

The Lane County Sheriff's Office (Oregon)'s current patrol rifle is the Bushmaster XM15 (variant not stated) (5.56x45mm / .223), per official agency or government records; based on a 2020 source and not re-verified since.

Duty Arms Index1,234 agencies2,949 sourced entriesUpdated Oct 10, 2026How we source

Patrol / duty issue

At a glance

CategoryCurrent primary issueEntries
PistolsNot yet sourced—
Rifles / CarbinesBushmaster XM15 (variant not stated)Who else issues it →3
ShotgunsNot yet sourced—
Precision / Sniper RiflesNot yet sourced—
SMGs / Pistol-Caliber CarbinesNot yet sourced—
Duty AmmunitionNot yet sourced—

Loadout

How the current duty weapons are configured, per the sourced entries below. Optic and light models are shown only when a source names them.

Patrol rifle

Bushmaster XM15 (variant not stated)

Official source
Bushmaster XM15-E2S; the agency source says only 'Bushmaster XM15' (variant not stated) (representative photo)
Shown: Bushmaster XM15-E2S; the agency source says only 'Bushmaster XM15' (variant not stated)
Issued configuration
Rifle
Bushmaster XM15 (variant not stated)
Caliber
5.56x45mm / .223
Rifle optic
Not yet sourced
Light
Not yet sourced

Source: Lane County Sheriff's Office, Oregon (May 12, 2020)

  • Main photo: Representative photo: Bushmaster XM15-E2S; the agency source says only 'Bushmaster XM15' (variant not stated). “M4gery” by Mika Järvinen, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Photos are model or representative photos from Wikimedia Commons, Flickr (Creative Commons), U.S. government public-domain sources and our own photos, not this agency's own equipment. Accessory photos are separate images, never edited onto the gun.

Rifles / Carbines

3 current
Bushmaster XM15 (variant not stated) (model photo)

Representative photo: Bushmaster XM15-E2S; the agency source says only 'Bushmaster XM15' (variant not stated). Photo: Mika Järvinen, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.

Bushmaster XM15 (variant not stated)

Official source1 source
5.56x45mm / .223Patrol long gun
DatesCurrent (start date unknown)
As ofOct 10, 2026

Per G.O. 7.29 as revised May 12, 2020; not re-verified.

General Order 7.29 defines department long rifles as 'The Bushmaster XM15, Colt AR15/M16, HK-33 or any other Sheriff's Office approved long rifle', kept patrol-ready in the rifle rack. The XM15 variant isn't stated. No duty handgun is named in the posted general orders.

Colt AR-15 (model not stated) (model photo)

Representative photo: Colt AR-15 Sporter SP1 (agency source did not state the model). Photo: M62, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Model photo, not the agency's own firearm.

Colt AR-15 (model not stated)

Official source1 source
.223 RemPatrol long gun
DatesCurrent (start date unknown)
As ofOct 10, 2026

Per G.O. 7.29 as revised May 12, 2020; not re-verified.

G.O. 7.29 lists the 'Colt AR15/M16' among department long rifles. The model isn't stated (M16 indicates some select-fire Colts).

Generic illustration

Heckler & Koch HK33

Official source1 source
5.56x45mm / .223Patrol long gun
DatesCurrent (start date unknown)
As ofOct 10, 2026

Per G.O. 7.29 as revised May 12, 2020; not re-verified.

G.O. 7.29 lists the HK-33 among department long rifles. It may be a legacy listing; not confirmed in recent sources.

Not yet sourced for this agency

Know of a public source (policy manual, contract, press release, news)? Submit it.

Compare Lane County Sheriff's Office (Oregon) with other agencies

Corrections & change log

  • Oct 10, 2026 · Imported from public source(s): Lane County Sheriff's Office, Oregon
  • Oct 10, 2026 · Imported from public source(s): Lane County Sheriff's Office, Oregon
  • Oct 10, 2026 · Imported from public source(s): Lane County Sheriff's Office, Oregon

Agency-level equipment only, from public sources. No individual officers, no unit specifics beyond what the agency has published. Not affiliated with Lane County Sheriff's Office (Oregon). Agency listing source: link.