Glock Gen5 vs Gen4 vs Gen6: which generation do police carry?
Data coverage: Based on 549 agencies in the Duty Arms Index with a current, sourced Glock pistol entry (any role except SWAT/tactical-unit listings). Only 89 of them (16.2%) have an entry that names the generation; generation shares are of those 89. Agencies with Glocks of two generations count once for each. Counts include only current entries with a public source; agencies not yet in the index, or without a sourced entry for this item, are not counted, so treat shares as a picture of the Duty Arms Index, not of every agency. Data last updated Oct 10, 2026.
Glock generation share
Distinct agencies with a current entry naming each generation, of 89 that name one (primary duty pistol counts in brackets).
- Gen5(54 primary)66 (74.2%)
- Gen6(11 primary)14 (15.7%)
- Gen4(12 primary)13 (14.6%)
Generation by model
Agencies per model family and named generation. “Not stated” is the source giving only the model.
| Model | Gen6 | Gen5 | Gen4 | Not stated | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Glock 17 | 5 | 29 | 6 | 175 | 211 |
| Glock 45 | 10 | 24 | – | 151 | 183 |
| Glock 19 | 4 | 22 | 1 | 89 | 113 |
| Glock 22 | – | – | 5 | 91 | 96 |
| Glock 47 | – | – | – | 59 | 59 |
| Glock 21 | – | – | 1 | 43 | 44 |
| Glock 23 | – | – | 2 | 39 | 41 |
| Glock 43X | – | – | – | 33 | 33 |
An agency with two generations of the same model appears in both columns.
Agencies with the Glock Gen6 (14)
Tempe Police Department (AZ) · Parlier Police Department (CA) · St. Petersburg Police Department (FL) · Overland Park Police Department (KS) · Freeport Police Department (Maine) (ME) · York County Sheriff's Office (Maine) (ME) · Forsyth County Sheriff's Office (NC) · Salem Police Department (New Hampshire) (NH) · Washington Township Police Department (Gloucester County, New Jersey) (NJ) · Lordstown Police Department (OH) · Mentor Police Department (OH) · Pittsburgh Bureau of Police (PA) · South Kingstown Police Department (RI) · McMinnville Police Department (Tennessee) (TN)
Generation upgrades (10)
Agencies with a sourced previous primary duty Glock and a newer-generation current one, newest first.
- Lordstown Police Department (OH)Glock G22 Gen4 → Glock G45 Gen6 · 2026
- Leavenworth Police Department (Kansas) (KS)Glock G22 Gen4 → Glock G17 Gen5 MOS · 2023
- Junction City Police Department (KS)Glock G17 Gen4 → Glock G17 Gen5 MOS · 2022
- Freeport Police Department (Maine) (ME)Glock G17 Gen4 → Glock G45 Gen6
- Glenview Police Department (IL)Glock G22 Gen4 → Glock G45 Gen5 MOS
- Grand Chute Police Department (WI)Glock G22 Gen4 → Glock G17 Gen5
- Johnson City Police Department (TN)Glock G21 Gen4 → Glock G45 Gen5 MOS
- Overland Park Police Department (KS)Glock G17 Gen5 → Glock G17 Gen6
- Tulsa Police Department (OK)Glock G22 Gen4 → Glock G17 Gen5
- Wilmington Police Department (North Carolina) (NC)Glock G17 Gen4 → Glock G17 Gen5
Agencies with a current Gen4 entry (13)
Alaska Wildlife Troopers (AK) · Jackson County Sheriff's Office (Alabama) (AL) · Scottsboro Police Department (AL) · Pine Bluff Police Department (AR) · Siskiyou County Sheriff's Office (CA) · Honolulu Police Department (HI) · Topeka Police Department (KS) · Salem Police Department (New Hampshire) (NH) · East Windsor Police Department (NJ) · Green Island Police Department (NY) · New York City Police Department (NY) · Scott Township Police Department (Allegheny County) (PA) · League City Police Department (TX)
Frequently asked
- What Glock generation do police use?
- Gen5, where the source says. Of 89 agencies in the Duty Arms Index whose Glock entry names the generation, 66 issue a Gen5 (74.2%), 13 a Gen4 (14.6%) and 14 a Gen6 (15.7%). Most sources don't name it: 460 of 549 agencies with a current Glock entry list only the model (e.g. "Glock 17").
- Do police departments use the Glock Gen6?
- Yes, a few already do: 14 agencies in the index have a current, sourced Gen6 Glock, including Forsyth County Sheriff's Office, York County Sheriff's Office (Maine), Salem Police Department (New Hampshire).
- Do police still carry Gen4 Glocks?
- 13 agencies have a current entry that names a Gen4, while 10 agencies have a sourced move from an older generation to a newer one (most often Gen4 to Gen5).
- How many police Glocks are optics-ready (MOS)?
- 99 of 549 agencies with a current Glock entry (18%) list a MOS (optic-cut) model. Sources that don't say MOS are not counted, so this is a floor. See red dot adoption for pistol optics.
See also: Glock vs SIG Sauer · most common duty pistol · pistol switches · who uses the Glock 17